Three Tigers Win Flights as No. 12 Women’s Tennis Opens Fall Schedule at ITA Regionals

Three Tigers Win Flights as No. 12 Women’s Tennis Opens Fall Schedule at ITA Regionals

Results | Final Brackets

ATLANTA - The Sewanee women's tennis team, ranked No. 12 in the country, opened competition this past weekend at the ITA Atlantic South Regional Championships, hosted by Emory University and Agnes Scott College. 

Sewanee Athletics Social Media | Twitter/Instagram: @SewaneeTigers
Women's Tennis Social Media | Twitter: @USouthTennis | Instagram: @Sewanee_Tennis

-After falling to Hannah Dohety (Centre) in the opening round of the main flight, Maura McCrary headed to the Consolation, where she took down three straight opponents to make it to the final.

-After a first-round bye, Catherine Owen defeated Megan Waldheim of Piedmont before falling in the third round.

-In Flight B, Taylor Sprouse and newcomer Nelson Tyer Jones played to the final in the flight. Sprouse defeated Jones, 6-3, 6-3, to win the flight.

-Alexandra Smyth reached the final in Flight C but fell to Jules Johnson of N.C. Wesleyan.

-In doubles, Owen and Ellie Czura made it to the quarterfinals of the A Flight, while Jordan Besh/Sara Thompson, after dropping their first match in the Flight, made it to the finals in the consolation draw.

-Smyth/Morgan Downing finished as a finalist in the Flight B Doubles, while Kaylin Thompson/Sarah Gray won the consolation draw.

1 Haley Tucker (Sewanee) def. Taylor Cranford (Oglethorpe) 6-0, 6-0
1 Sara Thompson (Sewanee) def. Tailtha Rowan (N.C. Wesleyan) 6-1, 6-1
1 Lilly Stephens (Sewanee) def. Hannah Dattilo (Oglethorpe) 6-2, 6-2
1 Hannah Doherty (Centre) def. Maura McCrary (Sewanee) 6-2, 6-3
1 Mary Jane McCaghren (Sewanee) def. Morgan Buchholz (Piedmont) 5-7, 6-3, 6-3
1 Neha Rao (Centre) def. Morgan Downing (Sewanee) 6-0, 6-0
1 Caroline Adams (Sewanee) def. Caroline Lancaster (Centre) 6-1, 7-5
1 Jordan Besh (Sewanee) def. Shannon Cruz (Oglethorpe) 6-2, 1-6, 6-1
1 Emma Cartledge (Emory) def. Mary Jane McCaghren (Sewanee) 6-2, 6-1
2 Katie Chang (Emory) def. Sara Thompson (Sewanee) 6-1, 6-0
2 Sasha Hartje (Emory) def. Haley Tucker (Sewanee) 7-6 (2-0), 1-6, 6-1
2 Fariza Abdulloeva (N.C. Wesleyan) def. Jordan Besh (Sewanee) 6-2, 6-0
2 Grace Gaskins (Millsaps) def. Caroline Adams (Sewanee) 6-1, 6-4
2 Catherine Owen (Sewanee) def. Megan Waldheim (Piedmont) 6-1, 6-2
2 Ellie Czura (Sewanee) def. Caroline Doherty (Rhodes) 6-2, 6-0
2 Christina Watson (Emory) def. Lilly Stephens (Sewanee) 6-1, 6-1
3 Defne Olcay (Emory) def. Ellie Czura (Sewanee) 6-0, 6-0
3 Lauren Yoon (Emory) def. Catherine Owen (Sewanee) 7-5, 6-4

1 Maura McCrary (Sewanee) def. Grace Headley (Centre) 6-2, 6-1
1 Abigail Kent (Centre) def. Morgan Downing (Sewanee) 6-1, 6-2
QF Maura McCrary (Sewanee) def. Gulia Zanutti (N.C. Wesleyan) 6-0, 2-0, retired
SF Maura McCrary (Sewanee) def. Taylor Cranford (Oglethorpe) 6-4, 6-0
FI Julia Darkey (Rhodes) def. Maura McCrary (Sewanee), by default

1 Abbie Vaughn (Sewanee) def. Grace English (Centre) 6-1, 6-2
QF Taylor Sprouse (Sewanee) def. Kara Landsiedel (Piedmont) 6-3, 6-2
QF Stefany Barbera (N.C. Wesleyan) def. Abbie Vaughn (Sewanee) 4-6, 7-6 (1-0), 7-5
QF Taylor Sprouse (Sewanee) def. Dallas Bennett (Rhodes) 6-4, 6-4
QF Nelson Tyer Jones (Sewanee) def. Delaney Abood (Oglethorpe) 6-2, 4-6, 6-0
SF Nelson Tyer Jones (Sewanee) def. Stefany Barbera (N.C. Wesleyan) 6-0, 6-1
SF Taylor Sprouse (Sewanee) def. Louise Hovhammar (N.C. Wesleyan) 6-2, 6-1
FI Taylor Sprouse (Sewanee) def. Nelson Tyer Jones (Sewanee) 6-3, 6-3

1 Kaylin Thompson (Sewanee) def. Macey Lea (Belhaven) 6-1, 6-0
1 Sarah Gray (Sewanee) def. Mackenzie Snow (Centre) 2-6, 6-1, 6-1
1 Alexandra Smyth (Sewanee) def. Jabreann Thigpen (Belhaven) 6-0, 6-0
QF Jules Johnson (N.C. Wesleyan) def. Kaylin Thompson (Sewanee) 6-2, 6-3
QF Sarah Gray (Sewanee) def. Crysalin Gloria (Piedmont) 6-2, 6-1
QF Alexandra Smyth (Sewanee) def. Jordyn Kanak (Millsaps) 6-1, 7-5
SF Alexandra Smyth (Sewanee) def. Sarah Gray (Sewanee) 6-4, 7-4 (6-0)
FI Jules Johnson (N.C. Wesleyan) def. Alexandra Smyth (Sewanee) 6-2, 6-4

1 Defne Olcay/Stephanie Taylor (Emory) def. Abbie Vaughn/Nelson Tyer Jones (Sewanee) 8-1
1 Mary Jane McCaghren/Caroline Adams (Sewanee) def. Fariza Abdulloeva/Tailtha Rowan (N.C. Wesleyan) 9-7
1 Emily Zelichenok/Caroline Stallings (Centre) def. Maura McCrary/Taylor Sprouse (Sewanee) 8-6
1 Neha Rao/Hannah Doherty (Centre) def. Lilly Stephens/Haley Tucker (Sewanee) 8-4
1 Jordan Besh/Sara Thompson (Sewanee) def. Grace Gaskins/Maggie Dabadie (Millsaps), by default
2 Katie Chang/Lauren Yoon (Emory) def. Mary Jane McCaghren/Caroline Adams (Sewanee) 8-3
2 Sasha Hartje/Christina Watson (Emory) def. Jordan Besh/Sara Thompson (Sewanee) 8-0
2 Catherine Owen/Ellie Czura (Sewanee) def. Milena Amedieva/Stefany Barbera (N.C. Wesleyan) 8-0
QF Defne Olcay/Stephanie Taylor (Emory) def. Catherine Owen/Ellie Czura (Sewanee) 8-4

1 Maura McCrary/Taylor Sprouse (Sewanee) def. Maggie Moody/Caroline Connelly (Piedmont) 8-5
1 Ella Shields/Morris Kelly Clayton (Millsaps) def. Abbie Vaughn/Nelson Tyer Jones (Sewanee) 8-4
1 Jordan Besh/Sara Thompson (Sewanee) def. Julia Keffer/Macey Lea (Belhaven) 8-0
QF Maura McCrary/Taylor Sprouse (Sewanee) def. Hannah Dattilo/Shannon Cruz (Oglethorpe) 8-6
QF Lilly Stephens/Haley Tucker (Sewanee) def. Morgan Buchholz/Megan Waldheim (Piedmont) 8-5
QF Jordan Besh/Sara Thompson (Sewanee) def. Fariza Abdulloeva/Tailtha Rowan (N.C. Wesleyan), by default
SF Jordan Besh/Sara Thompson (Sewanee) def. Maura McCrary/Taylor Sprouse (Sewanee), by default
SF Caroline Doherty/Julia Darkey (Rhodes) def. Lilly Stephens/Haley Tucker (Sewanee) 8-5
FI Caroline Doherty/Julia Darkey (Rhodes) def. Jordan Besh/Sara Thompson (Sewanee), by default

1 Jules Johnson/Louise Hovhammar (N.C. Wesleyan) def. Kaylin Thompson/Sarah Gray (Sewanee) 8-3
1 Alexandra Smyth/Morgan Downing (Sewanee) def. Finn Mullen/Mia Mullen (Rhodes) 8-0
QF Alexandra Smyth/Morgan Downing (Sewanee) def. Crysalin Gloria/Haley Oleson (Piedmont) 8-5
SF Caroline Yarbrough/Madeleine McDonald (Rhodes) def. Alexandra Smyth/Morgan Downing (Sewanee) 9-7

QF Kaylin Thompson/Sarah Gray (Sewanee) def. Val Zhurakovskya/Lily McNeel (Piedmont) 8-5
SF Kaylin Thompson/Sarah Gray (Sewanee) def. Sahar Guermah/Ana Aguilar (N.C. Wesleyan), by default
FI Kaylin Thompson/Sarah Gray (Sewanee) def. Mackenzie Snow/Grace English (Centre) 8-2

The Tigers will open the spring schedule on Feb. 16 with a split-squad matchup versus Hanover on the Domain and at Transylvania.

For the latest news on the Sewanee Tigers, follow @SewaneeTigers on Twitter and Instagram, and like us on Facebook.