Sewanee Athletics Announce 2019 Hall of Fame Class

Sewanee Athletics Announce 2019 Hall of Fame Class

SEWANEE, Tenn. - The Class of 2019 of the Sewanee Athletics Hall of Fame has been announced. Four individuals and two teams make up the class, which will be inducted as a part of Homecoming Weekend, Nov. 1-2.

The committee will introduce George Barker C'26, Bill Huyck, Mike Knickelbine C'68 and Katy Morrissey C'90 in addition to the 1993 Men's Tennis Team and the 1997 Men's Basketball Team.

George Barker (C'26) | Men's Basketball, Football, Men's Golf
Born in Falling Water, Tenn. north of metro Chattanooga in 1901, Barker attended the University of the South in the fall of 1922 thanks to the influence of Dr. Alexander Guerry.

He earned two varsity letters each with the men's basketball and the men's golf team in 1924 and 1925.

With the football team, he earned three varsity letters in 1923-25 as a quarterback. He was named team captain of the team in 1925, where he also won the Porter Cup, which was given to the university's outstanding athlete.

He was a member of the 1924 team that earned the Thanksgiving Day win over Vanderbilt, defeating the Commodores, 16-0. After losing four straight games without scoring a point, the Tigers went on to win the final three games, outscoring opponents, 47-0.

After graduation, he went back to his high school alma mater, The Baylor School in Chattanooga to teach. During World War II, Barker served in Hawaii in the Army.

After serving his country, Barker returned to the Domain and worked in the treasurer's office until his retirement in 1966.

Because of his athletic achievements in the State of Tennessee, Barker, also known as "Zaney", was inducted into the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame in 1983.

He passed away on April 23, 1986 in Sewanee.

Bill Huyck | Athletic Director (1984-1995)
Huyck served as Sewanee's Director of Athletics for 12 years. In his time on the Domain, he was instrumental in the creation of the Robert Dobbs Fowler Athletic Center.

He was also influential in a conference change, as Sewanee joined the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) for both men's and women's sports for the 1991-92 season.

Hyuck served as the head coach of the men's cross country team and the men's track and field team along with his many duties as Athletic Director.

During his tenure, the Athletic Department earned 17 conference championships for Sewanee Athletics with the College Athletic Conference (CAC), the Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) and the SCAC. 

Graduating from Carleton College in 1953, Huyck was inducted into the Minnesota Track & Field Hall of Fame in 2010.

Mike Knickelbine (C'68) | Football
Knickelbine was a two-time First Team All-College Athletic Conference (CAC) selection in 1966 and 1967, where he was the "heart and soul" of those teams, especially for his blocking in Coach Shirley Majors' single wing offense.

During his junior season, he was named an All-Conference selection at both offensive end and defensive end.

Named team captain for the 1967 season, he was a part of 20 wins during his career, including an 8-1 record in 1964 and a 7-1 record in 1965. 

Katy Morrissey (C'90) | Women's Tennis
Morrissey was a two-time All-American in doubles play in 1989 and 1990 by the Intercollegiate Tennis Coaches Association (now called the Intercollegiate Tennis Association). She has totaled 57 career doubles wins.

Morrissey helped lead the Tigers to its first two NCAA Tournament appearances in 1989 and 1990. The Tigers finished as a quarterfinalist in 1989 and fourth place in 1990.

She joins her doubles partner Ellen Gray-Maybank (Hogan), who was inducted into the Sewanee Athletics Hall of Fame in 2007. The duo finished the 1989 season ranked eighth in the country and fifth at the conclusion of the 1990 campaign.

1993 Men's Tennis Team
The 1993 men's tennis team won its first Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) Championship under head coach John Shackelford after finishing as a tournament finalist in the inaugural year of the championship. The team finished the campaign with a 19-6 record, the second-most at the time behind the 24 wins by the 1988 team, also inducted into the Hall in 2011.

The Tigers, in San Antonio, Texas, defeated the host, Trinity University, 5-4, to claim their first conference tournament championship. With the win, the program earned its third trip to the NCAA Tournament after its last appearance in 1989.

That season, three players, Brian Morrow, Lee Hamilton and Stephen Jackson were named to the All-Conference Singles Team. In doubles, the Tigers swept the All-Conference awards, taking all three flights. K.C. Horne and Jackson won at No. 1, as the duo went on to each become an All-American by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA). 

Morrow and Matthew Harris won the No. 2. Jay Jones and Lanny Lewis took home All-Conference honors at the No. 3 flight.

On a national level, Horne was also named the Rookie of the Year by the ITA.

Finishing ninth in the NCAA Championships, the SCAC listed the moment at the 10th-best moment of the conference's Top-20 Moments in 2011. This was in conjunction with the league's 20th anniversary.

1997 Men's Basketball Team
Under head coach Joe Thoni, the 1997 men's basketball team recorded a 19-7 record en route to the team's first conference title in the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) and the program's fifth conference championship.

The program earned its first conference title since the team won back-to-back in 1975 and 1976.

From a stretch from Jan. 10 to Feb. 9, the Tigers won eight of 10 conference games as they finished with an 11-3 mark in league play, three games ahead of Southwestern University (Texas), to win the conference title.

The program earned the automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament, as the team finished in the second round.

Hosting the first two rounds in Juhan Gymnasium, the Tigers defeated Rust College (Miss.), 68-61, in the opening round on March 6 to earn the program's first NCAA Tournament win.

Ryan Harrigan led the conference in scoring that season with 488 points, averaging 18.8 points per contest. Additionally, he led the league in field goals made (197) and field goal percentage (61.6).

Peter Jones took the top honors in the SCAC in assists with 128, posting 4.9 per game, while Turner Emery drained 70 shots from beyond the arc.

The Tigers led the way in three-point field goals, making 193 that season, averaging 7.42 per game.

Harrigan, who was named Player of the Year in the league, and Emery were both selected as First Team All-Conference. Head coach Thoni was named the SCAC Coach of the Year.

On a national level, Harrigan was named as a Fourth Team All-American by DIII News, while Emery was named an Honorable Mention.

The Class of 2019 will be recognized during homecoming weekend on Nov. 1-2. The Hall of Fame dinner and celebration will occur on Friday, Nov. 1 at 6 p.m. at the Sewanee Inn. The inductees will also be recognized at halftime during the football game on Nov. 2 vs. Millsaps. Kickoff is scheduled for 1:30 p.m. from Historic Hardee-McGee Field at Harris Stadium.

For the latest news on the Sewanee Tigers, follow @SewaneeTigers on Twitter and Instagram, and like us on Facebook.