Draws Announced for 2019 NCAA Individual Championships

Draws Announced for 2019 NCAA Individual Championships

Championship Central | Singles Bracket

KALAMAZOO, Mich. - The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) announced on Thursday afternoon the draws for the 2019 NCAA Women's Tennis Individual Championships.

Catherine Owen, who qualified as one of the singles participants, will square off with Mary Cardone of Southwestern (Texas) in the Round of 32 Friday morning at 9 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. CT at the Sorensen Courts on the campus of Western Michigan University. The teams will play on Court 7.

Owen enters the postseason with an 11-6 record, which includes capturing the clinching point to earn Sewanee's seventh straight Southern Athletic Association (SAA) Tournament Championship.

The 2019 SAA Player of the Year is ranked fifth in the Atlantic South region, as the sophomore competes in her first Individual Championships.

Cardone finished the 2019 regular season with a 16-1 record, all coming at the No. 1 flight. Ranked seventh in the West region by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA), her lone loss of the season came via retirement to Ashley DeBauge of Trinity (Texas) on Mar. 29.

The winner of the first round match will face the winner of Lauren O'Malley of John Carroll and Johanna Ranta-Aho of Christopher Newport in the Round of 16 Friday afternoon at 1 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. CT.

Click the "Championship Central" link above for more information. 

For the latest news on the Sewanee Tigers, follow @SewaneeTigers on Twitter and Instagram, and like us on Facebook.